News & Updates

11th Womens Awards Banquet approaches

April 21, 2012

NEW CASTLE – A class of 11 remarkable talents will be welcomed as inductees when the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame celebrates their 11th Women-s Induction Class on Saturday, April 28.

Including four coaches who combined to win six state championships, make 11 State Finals appearances and rack up 1,450 combined wins, the class is comprised of successful Indiana high school coaches and players who attained success throughout the IHSAA state tournament, reaching the State Finals, and participating in the Indiana-Kentucky All-Star series, all hallmarks of the rich Indiana high school basketball tradition.

In addition, a number of this year-s inductees left their mark in the early days of IHSAA girls- basketball, implemented in 1975-76. Each has also left their mark with successful careers in college and in their respective lives off the court.

Name                                       High School                                           Graduation
Shelly (Brand) Adlard         Evansville Reitz                                      1981
Stan Benge                             Ben Davis                                               1972
Anita (Folk) George             Warsaw                                                   1978
Linda Godby                           Warren Central                                    1986
Amy Lynn Hile                        Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger         1983
Bob Kirkhoff                            Cathedral                                              1953
Mike McCroskey                      Kokomo                                               1968
Audrey (Baines) Moore       Jeffersonville                                        1976
Sue Parrish                               Marion                                                   1963
Judy (Burns) Powell               Marion                                                   1981
Sharon Roberts *                    New Castle                                           1961
* St.Vincent Health Silver Medal Award recipient

In addition to these inductees, 18 women will be recognized as members of the Hall-s 2012 Silver Anniversary Team recognizing their spot as top graduating high school seniors of 25 years ago.

The 1987 state champion Noblesville Lady Millers will be recognized 25 years after their title and the 1986-87 Fort Wayne Northrop Bruins will be recognized on the 25th anniversary of their Hall of Fame Classic tournament championship.

Rhonda McGee and Don -Knute- O-Connor will be presented with the Center Circle Officials Award, recognizing their contributions as longtime officials dedicated to Indiana high school basketball.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame-s Annual Women-s Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 28. The evening ceremony will take place at the Primo South Banquet and Conference Center which is located on the south side of Indianapolis. In addition, a free public reception will take place at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle from 11:00 a.m. (EST) to 1:00 p.m.

Call the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame at 765-529-1891 for more information.