News & Updates

2022 Women’s Center Circle Officials Award winners named

December 21, 2021
Mike EasonCumberland
Ron McGriffWhiteland

(NEW CASTLE) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes two officials for their contribution as high school girls basketball officials as the 2022 Women’s Center Circle Officials Award winners.

Mike Eason of Cumberland and Ron McGriff of Whiteland will be acknowledged for their officiating careers.

Mike Eason is a graduate of South Newton High School, where he was a three-sport athlete.  He earned a degree in accounting from Ball State University.

Eason has worked 21 girls sectionals, eight regionals, six semi-states and three state finals (2007, 2010, 2013) in addition to work in boys basketball and football, including four boys basketball state finals (2006, 2009, 2012, 2017).

A member of the Indiana Officials Association, he has served as Treasurer and on the audit committee.  He has three years as a clinician and participated in the mentor/mentee program through the IOA. 

Employed with Indiana Members Credit Union in Indianapolis, he resides in Cumberland.

Ron McGriff is a graduate of Southwestern (Shelby) High School, where he lettered in basketball, baseball, track and cross country.  Earning baseball all-conference and all-county honors multiple times, in basketball he led the Spartans in free throw percentage, field goal percentage and rebounding.  He earned a degree from Franklin College.

He has worked 25 sectionals, 19 regionals, nine semi-states and three state finals (1998, 2001 and 2008) in girls basketball.  In boys basketball, his extensive career includes officiating four state finals (2001, 2009, 2014, 2018).

A member of the Southeastern Indiana Officials Association and Indiana Officials Association, he has served as basketball chairman.  His career includes 10 years as a clinician and experience working in mentoring programs with officials including Roger McGriff, Jerry Petro and Ken Gorrell. 

Employed with Duke Energy, he resides in Whiteland.

Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 20th Women’s Awards Banquet on Saturday, April 30, 2022.

The ceremony will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.  Tickets for the event are available online now. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 or email for more information.