News & Updates

56th Men’s Awards Banquet to be held March 22

March 17, 2017

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame welcomes their 56th class of inductees and honors other Indiana boys’ high school basketball legends on March 22 in ceremonies to be held at Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.

Highlighting the evening’s ceremony, 14 men will be inducted into the Hall, recognized with the highest honor bestowed in Indiana high school basketball.

Among individuals to be inducted are 1991 USA Today 1st team high school All-Americans, Alan Henderson and Glenn Robinson.  The duo, who faced each other in the 1991 IHSAA state championship game, in their respective careers at Indiana University and Purdue University and throughout 10+ year NBA careers, are each inducted in their first year eligible (26 years after high school graduation).  Only nine men all-time have previously been inducted as first-year eligible players, a list that includes Steve Alford, Damon Bailey, Kent Benson, Larry Bird, Dave Colescott, Kyle Macy, George McGinnis, Rick Mount and Oscar Robertson.

Including Henderson, four former Indiana Hoosiers are among this year’s class.  Henderson (Brebeuf 1991) was a 1995 All-American for IU and graduated in the Top 5 in school history in scoring, rebounds, blocks and steals, Phil Isenbarger (Muncie North 1977) and Steve Risley (Lawrence Central 1977) were classmates and senior members of the Hoosiers’ 1981 NCAA National Championship team, while Bob Reinhart (Dale H.S. 1957) played basketball and baseball for the Hoosiers before a noted coaching career in high school, college and the NBA in Indiana and Georgia.

Joining Robinson (Gary Roosevelt 1991), the 1994 NCAA National Player of the Year, in the class is his Purdue teammate Matt Waddell (Tipton 1990).  Robinson and Waddell were both starters on the Boilermakers’ 1994 Big Ten Champion and NCAA Elite Eight squad.

Bill Hampton (Crispus Attucks 1955), a senior starter for the Tigers’ 1955 state championship team, gains induction this year.  That squad made history as the first African-American high school team in any sport anywhere in the United States to win a state championship open to schools of all colors.

Dave Sanders (Sheridan 1961) set Butler University’s single season scoring record, Herb McPherson (Mississinewa 1962) set the Grant County career field goal record, Jim Lyttle (North Dearborn 1964) set his school’s scoring record and Al Tucker (Patricksburg 1957) coached Cloverdale to over 250 wins and seven sectional titles.

The late Edward “Jingles” Engelhart (Washington H.S. 1930) was the leading scorer for the Hatchets’ 1930 state championship team before a lengthy career as coach and AD at Merrillville High School, where they named Engelhart Gymnasium in his honor.

The recipient of this year’s Centennial Award to recognize contributions to Indiana high school basketball from 100 or more years ago is Edwin Hubble.  The coach of New Albany’s 1913-14 team, they were undefeated in the regular season, reaching deep into that season’s state tournament and regularly trouncing their opponents.  Later an immense success as an astronomer, he is the namesake of the Hubble Telescope.

Indiana Pacers 2017 Silver Medal Award recipient Ron Newlin is inducted for his contributions to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.  The executive director of the organization from 1987-1995 during their planning, building and opening of the New Castle museum, his leadership produced an award-winning facility that has become the crown jewel of showcasing Indiana high school basketball history.

Three men – Bob Beeson of Connersville, Larry Maxwell of Martinsville and the late Bob Carr of Muncie – will be recognized with the Center Circle Officials Award.

18 men will be recognized as members of the 2017 Silver Anniversary Team – acknowledging their spot as one of the top senior basketball players in Indiana 25 years ago in the Class of 1992.

The 1967 Evansville North team will be recognized for the 50th  anniversary of their state championship, the 1992 Richmond Red Devils team will be honored on the 25th anniversary of their state championship and the 1917 Lebanon Tigers will be remembered 100 years after their state championship win.

A limited number of seats remain for the event, which will draw a crowd of over 1,000.  Cost for the event, including a 6:00 PM dinner, is $50 for adults.  Reservations may be made by calling (765) 529-1891.

A reception – open to the public and free of charge – will take place at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle between 11:00 AM (ET) and 1:00 PM on March 22.