News & Updates

18 named to Silver Anniversary Team

December 5, 2011

Eighteen men have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame-s 2012 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.

The team includes nine members of the 1987 Indiana All-Star squad.  Nine other all-state players are included to recognize the top of Indiana-s high school class of 1987.

 Three members of the 1987 state champion Marion Giants are among the selections.

 1987 Indiana All-Stars include Lyndon Jones, Jimmy Apple, Dave Barrett, Jerry Coleman, Rick Fox, Jerome Harmon, Daric Keys, Kyle Persinger, and John Wilczynski.

 The remaining eight, named to various all-state teams are: Bryan Clements, Marty Collier, Rod Creech, Keith Gailes, Jeff Robbins, Scott Roberts, Ron Rutland, John Shoup and Isaac Washington.

For further career details on Silver Anniversary Team individuals click here.


Kenny Blankenbaker, New Palestine
Dick Freeman, South Bend
Bob Spay, Kokomo (deceased)

 NEW CASTLE – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes three men for their contribution as high school basketball officials as the 2012 Men-s Center Circle Officials Award winners.

 Kenny Blankenbaker, Dick Freeman and the late Bob Spay will be recognized for their officiating careers.

 Kenny Blankenbaker is a 1949 graduate of Salem High School.  He worked 16 sectionals, eight regionals, five semi-states and two state finals (1966 and 1967) in boys basketball.   A member of the South Central Indiana Officials Association, he served as Vice President and the organizations official interpreter of rules.  He has served as an observer for over 15 years as well as a clinician.  He is retired from the insurance industry and lives with his wife Shirley in New Palestine. 

 Richard -Dick- Freeman is a 1949 graduate of Mishawaka High School, where he was the basketball team-s MVP his senior season.  A veteran of over 50 tournaments in the state, he worked 25 sectionals, 19 regionals, five semi-states and the 1981 state finals in boys basketball.  A clinician and observer for basketball and football officials, he was a member of the St. Joseph Valley Officials Association and served as Vice President.  His career as an official was cut short in 1985 due to an injury.  In 1993 he was inducted into the Mishawaka High School Athletics Hall of Fame.  He lives in South Bend with his wife Janet.

 The late Robert -Bob- Spay was born in 1920 and graduated from Tipton High School, where he was a multi-sport athlete.  He worked 13 sectionals, nine regionals, five semi-states and two state finals (1964 and 1965) in boys basketball, including the 1964 state championship game between Lafayette Jeff and Huntington.  He officiated both high school basketball and football and worked college football games.  Spay was a member and Past President of the North Central Officials Association.  In addition to serving as an observer and speaker, Spay helped organize an annual gathering of former state finals officials each summer.  Spay was a manager of purchasing at Delco Electronics in Kokomo, he passed away in 2006.

 All Men-s Silver Anniversary Team members and Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame-s Annual Men-s Banquet on Wednesday, March 21, 2012.  The ceremony will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.  Tickets will be made available in early 2012, but reservations can be made through our website. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 for more information or email [email protected].


Name                                      High School                                              College

Jimmy Apple                           Salem                                                       William & Mary

Dave Barrett                           Lafayette Central Catholic                 Purdue

Bryan Clements                      Evansville Memorial                           Earlham

Jerry Coleman                         Richmond                                             Northeast Nebraska / Valpo

Marty Collier                            Bloomington South                         Central Florida

Rod Creech                              Penn                                                      Saginaw Valley State

Rick Fox                                    Warsaw                                                 North Carolina

Keith Gailes                             Michigan City Rogers                       Loyola (Ill.)

Jerome Harmon                  Gary Lew Wallace                                Louisville

Lyndon Jones                      Marion                                                    Indiana

Daric Keys                             Marion                                                   Wake Forest

Kyle Persinger                    Marion                                                   U. of Indianapolis      

Jeff Robbins                       Muncie Southside                               Murray St. / Ball St.

Scott Roberts                   Terre Haute North                               Franklin College

Ron Rutland                    Pike                                                           U. of Indianapolis

John Shoup                   Clinton Central                                       Butler

Isaac Washington       East Chicago Central                            Paris JC / Texas A & I

John Wilczynski          Merrillville                                                 Akron