Matt Martin
Executive Director

Matt Martin was hired as the executive director of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in May 2022.

“Our search committee evaluated numerous quality candidates and faced difficult decisions in our process,” noted Hall of Fame President Mark Baltz. “We are excited to land Matt Martin as our next executive director and look forward to the energy and passion he will bring to the position.”

Martin, a Knightstown High School and Purdue University graduate, has spent the past eight years as athletic director at Knightstown High School. Martin served as president of the IHSAA executive committee during the 2019-20 school year, helping the organization navigate the retirement of commissioner Bobby Cox, hire of commissioner Paul Neidig and the complexities of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I am extremely humbled and honored to have been selected as the new executive director of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame,” Martin states. “The tradition, history, and passion that is the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame is something that I am looking forward to being around on a daily basis.”

Martin replaces Chris May, who will complete a 13-year tenure as the Hall’s executive director on June 15, 2022.

“I am excited to be able to work with Kayla, Cheryl, Trip, the countless volunteers, officers, and Hall of Fame board members to continue to build on the great things Chris and his staff have done for basketball around our great state,” says Martin. “I am very thankful for my eight years at Knightstown, along with my duties on the IHSAA Board of Directors, and look forward to the future of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.”

Martin resides in Knightstown with his wife Rachel and sons Gary and Oliver.

Please contact Matt with questions in regards to:

  • Overall Hall of Fame questions/concerns
  • Event Management
  • Media Relations/Press Releases
  • Facility Management
Kayla Kessler
Assistant Director

Kayla was hired by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in December of 2013 and has been the Assistant Director since July of 2019. She assumes responsibilities such as significant involvement in fundraising activities including planning, staffing and executing events, managing office operations including Hall of Fame correspondence, preparing documents for administrative meetings and anything deemed necessary to the organization’s operation in assisting the Executive Director.

She welcomes museum visitors, oversees the membership campaign and serves as the Hall of Fame’s primary contact for inductees and honorees, while serving as a representative of the organization as needed in providing input to creatively market and promote the museum.

Kayla is from Rushville (RCHS class of 2010) and graduated from Ball State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Relations in December of 2013. She interned with the Hall of Fame during her junior year of college and began working full-time immediately following graduation.

She has been married to her husband, Darren since May of 2014, and they are the proud parents of two daughters and one son.

Please contact Kayla with questions in regards to:

  • Membership relations/campaigns
  • Banquet information/reservations
  • Event correspondence/detailed planning
  • Office operations.
Cheryl Betten
Operations Coordinator

Cheryl Betten, Operations Coordinator of Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame

Cheryl has been the Operations Coordinator of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame since July of 2019. Her key responsibilities include but are not limited to assisting in managing day-to-day operations of the HOF organization and museum, handling financial operations, overseeing volunteer staffing and office duties such as HOF correspondence and publications, including the Men’s and Women’s Banquet program books, HOF Classic program and other flyers, brochures and documents, all while assisting in fundraising and event planning in promoting the organization, running the HOF gift shop and welcoming museum visitors.

She’s a New Castle graduate and remains a beloved Trojan fan and resident of the city. Before joining the HOF team, she was the secretary to the New Castle High School Athletic Director for 31 years.

Cheryl and her husband, Michael are the proud parents of four children and 13 grandchildren.

Please contact Cheryl with questions in regards to:

  • Hall of Fame Financials
  • Gift Shop Information/Sales
  • Volunteer Information/Schedules
  • Raymond James Hall of Fame Classic Ticket Requests
Noah Dahlquist
Publications Coordinator

The Hall of Fame’s newest employee, Noah Dahlquist, took over as the newly created Publications Coordinator in January of 2023.

Dahlquist is a 2019 graduate of Franklin College with a Bachelor of Arts in History and a minor in Religious Studies. While at Franklin College he served as the Vice President of his Fraternity.

A museum professional, prior to joining the Hall of Fame team, Noah was the office manager at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum. Additionally, he completed several graduate internships at other notable Indianapolis historical institutions including the Indiana Historical Society, and James Whitcomb Riley Museum Home. In these positions he worked to upgrade online presence, social media, conducted tours, and published some of his own work.

Noah assumed similar responsibilities at the Hall of Fame, where his responsibilities include; to compose our quarterly magazine, create our banquet programs, and assist with our online/social media outlets along with aiding in updating our touch screens in our museum.

Noah is a native of Rochester, Indiana although he currently resides in Greenfield with his wife, Hollyn. As a trained historian Noah has a passion for the history of Indiana High School Basketball and is excited to join the HOF team to help advance the mission.

Please contact Noah for questions in regard to:

  • Quarterly Magazine
  • Banquet Program Advertisement Design
  • Digital Media and Designs
  • Social Media Information


Mark Baltz, President
Donna Sullivan, Executive Vice President
Bill Walker, Treasurer
Rick Goins, Secretary
Jerry Peirson, Immediate Past President
Gary Merrell, Vice President North
John Heaton, Vice President Central
Steve Brett, Vice President South
Dave Schellhase, At-Large Representative
Phil Isenbarger, At-Large Representative
Vance Meier, Henry County Representative
Matt Martin, Executive Director

Board Members

Larry Angle
Wayne Barker
Phil Borst
Mike Broughton
Dave Clark
Steve Davidson
Jim Fisher
David Gadis
Chad Gilbert
Jimmie Howell
Melissa James
Dr. Amy Metheny
Alan Nass
Paul Neidig
Laura Titus

Directors Emeritus

Sam Alford
Jim Callane
Howard Catt
Jack Colescott
Ray Craft
Myron Dickerson
Roger Dickinson
Dr. Phil Eskew
Steve Green, D.D.S.
Bob Hammel
Greg Humnicky
John Milholland
Dave Nicholson
Roger Schroder
Bill Springer
Ralph Taylor
Al Tucker
Marvin Tudor
Carol Tumey
Judi Warren 
Steve Witty


Cathy Davenport – Weekend Manager
Art Edinger – Weekend Manager
Les Vulgan – Artifacts Manager
Anita Abrell
Becky Beavers
Phil Bond
Larry & Shirley Carmony
Garry Chamberlain
Don Chambers
Mark & Patty Cotter
Rex Crabtree
Lonnie Dehoney
Steve & Chris Dicken
Dolores Dorr
Joe Edmonds
Ralph Fairchild
Gerald Freyer
Bruce Gaylor
Don Geozeff
Nancy Hinebaugh
Betty Houser
Phyllis Kirkpatrick
Sean & Lee Ann Kitchell
Kim Mathis
Doug & Lonnie May
Vance Meier
Mary Miller
Cindy Perdue
Beverly Potts
David Risley
Sharon Roberts
Mike Rutherford
Angie Sorrell
Linda Stairs
Harry Terrell
Pam Tower
Bill Tucker
Mabel Utt
Dave Wilson