News & Updates

2012 Women’s Silver Anniversary Team and Center Circle Officials Award winners announced

January 3, 2012

Name                                                       High School                            College
Janice (Holliday) Burrus                      Elkhart Memorial                    Odessa JC / UNLV
Shannon (Hardesty) Cantu               Crawfordsville                           Indiana University
Nikki (Anderson) Cerbone                Center Grove                            Butler University
Alicia (Dobbels) Clevenger                Seeger                                        St. Joseph-s College
Krissi Davis                                             Noblesville                                Notre Dame
Michelle (Baker) Davis                        Franklin                                      Ball State University
Shari (Clark) Doud                               Mt. Vernon (Fortville)             Drake University
Sharon (Geary) Franks                       Lake Central                            Ohio State University
Vicki Lander                                           Evansville Bosse                    UNLV
Teri Moren                                              Seymour                                  Purdue University
Lori (Meinerding) Morris-DeVries   FW Northrop                           Indiana University
Kelly (Powell) Richter                          Silver Creek                              Eastern Illinois
Jane (Calhoun) Schott                        Tipton                                       Purdue University
Robin Scott                                            Madison-Grant                      IPFW
Sara White                                             Clarksville                                 Wake Forest
Dana Wilkerson                                   Anderson                                 Long Beach State
Ann (Zellers) Williams                        Western Boone                     Indiana / IUPUI
Kristie (Talley) Wright                        North Posey                            Wabash Valley JC /
                                                                                                                       Southern Indiana            

NEW CASTLE – Eighteen women have been named to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame-s 2012 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago.

The team includes the 12 members of the 1987 Indiana All-Star squad, among them Indiana-s Miss Basketball.  Six other all-state players are included to comprise the best of Indiana-s high school class of 1987.

Fort Wayne Northrop-s Lori (Meinerding) Morris-DeVries was the state-s 1987 Miss Basketball, having led her team to an undefeated state championship in 1986 and return trip to the state finals in 1987.  Northrop set the state record for longest winning streak (57 games) during her junior and senior campaigns, when she also won the 1987 Mental Attitude Award.

Other 1987 Indiana All-Stars on this year-s Silver Anniversary Team include Shannon (Hardesty) Cantu, Nikki (Anderson) Cerbone, Krissi Davis, Michelle (Baker) Davis, Vicki Lander, Teri Moren, Kelly (Powell) Richter, Jane (Calhoun) Schott, Sara White, Dana Wilkerson and Ann (Zellers) Williams.

The remaining six, named to various all-state teams are: Janice (Holliday) Burrus, Alicia (Dobbels) Clevenger, Shari (Clark) Doud, Sharon (Geary) Franks, Robin Scott and Kristie (Talley) Wright.



Rhonda McGee, Floyds Knobs
Don -Knute- O-Conner, Bremen

NEW CASTLE – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes one woman and one man for their contribution as high school basketball officials as the 2012 Women-s Center Circle Officials Award winners.

Rhonda McGee of Floyds Knobs and Don -Knute- O-Conner, originally of Bremen, will be acknowledged for their officiating careers.

Rhonda McGee worked 18 sectionals, 11 regionals, 8 semi-states and 4 state finals (1992, 96, 99, 06) in Indiana girls high school basketball.  She also worked the Hall of Fame Classic and IHSAA Tournament of Champions during her career.  McGee received the Mildred Ball Award for girls basketball in 2002 and was named the outstanding IHSAA/NFIOA girls basketball official for 1999-2000.  A member of the South Central Officials Association, she served as Vice President, President of Basketball, and chairman and still works as a mentor with local officials and is the head umpire and trains and mentors new umpires at Floyd Knobs Community Club.

Don -Knute- O-Conner is a veteran of over 20 years officiating, having worked 13 girls sectionals, 10 regionals, 5 semi-states and 3 state finals (1986, 87, 89).  He also worked three boys state finals (1983, 86, 87).  O-Conner was the first official to work both boys and girls state finals two years in a row (1986 & 87).  He worked numerous holiday, county and conference tournaments and was a member of the Northern Indiana Officials Association and St. Joe Valley Officials Association.  O-Conner spent six years as a basketball observer and clinician and two years in basketball rules interpretation and mentored officials such as Jon Hershberger and Big Ten official Richard Nelson.  Originally from Bremen, he now resides in Fort Myers, Florida.

All Women-s Silver Anniversary Team members and Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame-s 11th Annual Women-s Banquet on Saturday, April 28, 2012.

The ceremony will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.  Tickets will be made available in coming weeks. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 for more information.