News & Updates

2016 Womens Center Circle Officials announced

December 22, 2015

2016 Women’s Center Circle Officials Award Winners Named

(NEW CASTLE) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes one woman and one man for their contribution as high school girls basketball officials as the 2016 Women’s Center Circle Officials Award winners.

Brian Humphrey of Rushville and Judy Phillips of Indianapolis will be acknowledged for their officiating careers.

Brian Humphrey is a 1974 graduate of Northeastern High School in Wayne County. A veteran high school official, he has worked 22 girls sectionals, 17 regionals, six semi-states and the 2003 girls 3A state championship game between Beech Grove and South Bend St. Joseph’s. Additionally, he has worked 19 boys basketball sectionals and eight regionals as well as 25 IHSAA volleyball sectionals, 18 regionals, 6 semi-states and six volleyball state finals, including the 2015 3A championship volleyball match.

A member of the Mid-Hoosier Officials Association, he is a Past President and board member. His roles within the association include basketball and volleyball clinician, observer and volleyball chair.

Humphrey is a financial advisor with Edward Jones in Rushville. He is married to the former Cindy Burk and they have two children.

Judy Phillips transferred an outstanding playing career into becoming a noted basketball official.

A 1984 Indiana All-Star after helping lead Brebeuf to the 1982 girls state finals, Phillips was honored in 2009 as a member of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s Silver Anniversary Team as an outstanding high school player. Phillips also had a standout career at New Mexico State, where she was a two-time all-conference player, four years academic all-conference, earned a degree in Business Administration and is a member of their Athletics HOF and remains in their record book for highest career FT% (.883) and highest single-season FT% (.903).

As an official, Phillips has worked 15 girls sectionals, 10 regionals, four semi-states and three state finals including the 2002 4A (Terre Haute vs. South Bend Riley), 2005 1A (Tri-Central vs. Northeast Dubois) and 2008 4A (Carmel vs. South Bend Washington) girls basketball state championship games. She also called three Indiana-Kentucky All-Star games and two Hall of Fame Classics and received the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association’s Mildred Ball Award as an outstanding girls basketball official in 2010.

She has been a member of the Indiana Officials Association and involved in rules interpretation and as a clinician. On the college level, she has extensive experience working NCAA Division II and Division III games, as well as in the Division I Mid-Continent Conference.

Approaching her 20th anniversary of employment with the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department, she is a sergeant in internal affairs. She resides in Indianapolis.


Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 15th Annual Women’s Banquet on Saturday, April 30, 2016.

The ceremony will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.  Tickets will be made available in coming weeks or can be reserved through the Hall’s website at You may purchase a congratulatory ad for an inductee or honoree either online or through the mail. Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 or email for more information.