Event | News & Updates

2020 Women’s Center Circle Officials announced

December 24, 2019

(NEW CASTLE) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes two officials for their contribution as high school girls basketball officials as the 2020 Women’s Center Circle Officials Award winners.

Steve Corya of Scipio and David Kavanaugh of Montgomery will be acknowledged for their officiating careers.

Steve Corya is a 1977 graduate of Jennings County High School, where he played baseball, basketball and football.  He was a three-year varsity baseball player at Franklin College and earned a degree in physical education and health there in 1981.   

Licensed for 40 seasons, he has worked 30 sectionals, 21 regionals, six semi-states, two state finals and two Hall of Fame Classics (and will work his 3rd Classic this week).  He has been a recipient of the IHSAA Distinguished Service Award.

A Past President of the Mid Hoosier Officials Association, he has twice served as Vice President, board member and basketball chair, and has worked six years in rules interpretation and 12 years as a clinician in high school and college.

His 20-year college officiating career includes working five NCAA Division III national tournaments, the 2012 NAIA national tournament and 10 NCCAA national tournaments, including two national title games. 

Employed with the State of Indiana for 32 years, he resides in Scipio.

David Kavanaugh is a 1966 graduate of Barr-Reeve High School, where he lettered in baseball and basketball.  He attended Vincennes University and Indiana State University, earning degrees in math & physics and a masters in education.

He worked 22 girls sectionals, 20 regionals, 10 semi-states and three state finals (1993, 1996, 1999), as well as the 1992 and 1993 Girls HOF Classic and 1998 Girls Tournament of Champions. 

A Past President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer as a member of the Southwestern Officials Association and Southern Officials Association, he spent eight years as basketball chairman, 26 years as an IHSAA test administrator, six years as a head clinician and 10 years as a certification clinician, as well as 20 years mentoring younger officials. 

He is retired after a 36-year teaching career at Loogootee schools.

Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 19th Annual Women’s Awards Banquet on Saturday, April 25, 2020.

The ceremony will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis.  Tickets will be made available in coming weeks or can be reserved through the Hall’s website here.  Call the Hall at 765-529-1891 or email [email protected] for more information.