News & Updates

2022 Men’s Center Circle Officials named

December 7, 2021
Ron GrimesBedford
Gary LeistnerDubois
John EvansIndianapolis

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes three men for their contribution as high school basketball officials as the 2022 Men’s Center Circle Officials Award winners.

Ron Grimes, Gary Leistner and the late John Evans will be recognized for their officiating careers.

Ron Grimes is a 1966 graduate of Brownsburg High School, where he played basketball, football and baseball. He played three years of football at Indiana State University and one year of basketball and baseball before graduating with degrees in physical education. His officiating career has included more than 40 sectional, 31 regionals, eight semi-states, one state finals (2004) and three Hall of Fame Classic tournaments as a licensed official.  A past member of the Southwestern Officials Association, he also is a member and Past President of the Mid-State Officials Association, where he was the trainer of three person officiating due to his college experience.  His career has also included NCAA Division III first and second round basketball tournament assignments. He resides in Bedford.

Gary Leistner is a graduate of Dubois High School, where he played baseball.  His extensive officiating career included 45 sectionals, 24 regionals, 13 semi-states, three boys state finals (1989, 1993, 1997) and one girls state finals (1998).  He worked over 1,000 games since 1967, including 3 Hall of Fame Classics (1993, 1995 and 2007).  A member of the Southwestern Indiana Officials Association for over 40 years and past member of the South Central Officials Association, he was an officer in SWIOA, attending state and national rules meetings and officials camps. He is retired from owning Crystal Turkey Farms.

The late John Evans was a graduate of Manual High School, where he played basketball and football and continued his football career at Indiana Central College.  He worked 17 sectionals, 11 regionals, four semi-states and one state finals (1992). In addition, he was on the call of the 1984 Hall of Fame Classic championship at Columbus, numerous Indianapolis City and Marion County tournaments and the 1991 4A football state championship game.  Past President and a member of the Board of Directors of the Indiana Officials Assocation. He also was chair of Downtown Indianapolis Kiwanis Club State Finals Luncheon and helped create their Jim Mills Scholarship award.

All Center Circle Officials Award winners will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 60th Men’s Awards Banquet on Wednesday, March 23, 2022.

A midday reception, free and open to the public, will be held at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle.  The evening banquet will take place at the Primo Banquet Hall, which is located on the south side of Indianapolis. 

Banquet reservations are now available through the Hall’s website at or by calling (765) 529-1891.  For more information, you may also email