News & Updates

52nd Men’s Awards Banquet approaches

March 11, 2013

(New Castle) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame welcomes their 52nd class of inductees and honors other Indiana boys- high school basketball legends on March 20 in ceremonies to be held at Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.

Highlighting the evening-s ceremony, 17 men will be inducted into the Hall, recognized with the highest honor bestowed in Indiana high school basketball.

Among individuals to be inducted are two Indiana Mr. Basketball winners, Jim Master (1980, FW Harding) and Dan Palombizio (1981, Michigan City Rogers), and two members of state championship teams, LeVern Benson (1956 Crispus Attucks) and Phil Dawkins 1960 East Chicago Washington).

Small school heros included in this year-s class are Gene Demaree (1961 New Marion), Dick Piper (1948 Chester Township) and Chad Tucker (1983 Cloverdale).

Others include Chuck Franz (1979 Clarksville), Scott Haffner (1984 Noblesville), Bob Heady (1960 Frankton), Carl Meditch (1955 Indianapolis Tech), Alan Nass (1959 Huntingburg), Bill -Fig- Newton (1968 Rockville) and Bob Rousey (1949 Anderson).

The recipient of this year-s Centennial Award to recognize contributions to Indiana high school basketball from 100 years ago is Forest -Cranie- Crane (1913 Wingate) who is inducted posthumously.  In addition, the 1913 Wingate state championship team will be remembered in celebration of their title 100 years ago.

A special presentation of the St.Vincent Health Silver Medal (including induction into the Hall) for contributions to Indiana high school basketball will be made to David Anspaugh and Angelo Pizzo, creators of the classic movie -Hoosiers-, while three men – Mark Baltz, Jim Dunlap and the late Wayne Crispen – will be recognized with the Center Circle Officials Award.

18 men will be recognized as members of the 2013 Silver Anniversary Team – acknowledging their spot as one of the top senior basketball players in Indiana 25 years ago.

In addition to recognizing the 1913 Wingate state championship team, the 1963 and 1988 Muncie Central Bearcat teams will be recognized for their 50th and 25th anniversaries, respectively, of winning an IHSAA state crown.

A limited number of seats remain for the event, which will draw a crowd of over 1,000.  Cost for the event, including a 6:00 PM dinner, is $50 for adults.  Reservations may be made by calling (765) 529-1891.

A reception – open to the public and free of charge – will take place at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle between 11:00 AM (ET) and 1:00 PM on March 20.