News & Updates

Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame names three new directors

June 17, 2016

(New Castle) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame named three new members to their board of directors at the organization’s annual meeting on Thursday, June 16.  Larry Angle, Denny Brady and Roger DeYoung have been appointed to four-year terms, beginning July 1.

Angle is a 1961 graduate of New Salem High School and 1966 graduate of Utah State University.  A 2010 inductee into the Hall of Fame, he was head coach at Rushville, Carmel, Tipton, Greenfield-Central and Indian Creek, accumulating 375 career wins and leading Rushville to the 1976 state runner-up finish.  He resides in Greenfield.

Brady is a 1964 graduate of Lafayette Jeff High School and 1969 graduate of Purdue University.  Leading the Bronchos to consecutive state finals appearances and the 1964 state championship, he was named Indiana’s 1964 Mr. Basketball. He was inducted into the Hall in 2006.  He resides in Noblesville.

DeYoung is a 1952 graduate of DeMotte High School and attended Purdue University as a scholarship track athlete.  A longtime Indiana high school basketball official, he worked seven IHSAA boys basketball state finals.  He received the Hall’s 2002 Center Circle Officials Award.  Retired from business, he resides in Hebron.

Additionally, two men have been promoted from the organization’s Board of Directors to the Hall’s Executive Committee.  Bill Walker of Huntington has been named Vice President North, while Mark Baltz of Zionsville has been named Vice President Central.

Walker, a 1970 New Castle H.S. graduate and 1974 graduate of Indiana University, spent 33 years as a teacher at Huntington North High School before retirement in 2007.  He remains active as team statistician for Huntington North boys basketball and public address announcer for Huntington University men’s basketball and baseball.

Baltz is a 1966 graduate of Lancaster (Ohio) H.S. and 1970 graduate of Ohio University.  A high school and college basketball and football official and 26-year NFL official, Baltz received the Center Circle Officials Award from the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013.

A full listing of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Officers and Board members for the 2016-17 year:

Sam Alford, President
Steve Witty, Executive Vice President
Ray Pavy, Treasurer
Jerry Peirson, Secretary
Jim Callane, Immediate Past President
Bill Walker, Vice President North
Mark Baltz, Vice President Central
Donna Sullivan, Vice President South
Phil Isenbarger, At-Large
Dr. Amy Metheny, At-Large
Vance Meier, Henry County Representative
Chris May, Executive Director

Board of Directors
Larry Angle
Dr. Phil Borst
Denny Brady
Mike Broughton
Bobby Cox
Roger DeYoung
Jim Fisher
Mark Gabriel
Steve Green, DDS
Greg Humnicky
Alan Nass
Jim Powers, Jr.
Randy Shields
Al Tucker
Judi Warren