News & Updates

Indiana Basketball HOF Announces 2019 Scholarship Recipients

January 8, 2019

(New Castle) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the initial four recipients of their newly formed “Gifts of the Game Scholarship” program.

Bailey Dyer of Madison High School, Nicholas Grieser of New Castle High School, Kayden Key of Frankton High School and Stevie McNew of Springs Valley High School have been selected as the recipients of a four-year renewable college scholarship worth up to $4,000 each.

Bailey Dyer has been a varsity basketball team captain at Madison Consolidated High School, as well as a recipient of the Mental Attitude / “Whatever it Takes Award” and recognized multiple times as a Hoosier Hills Conference basketball academic award recipient.  Ranked 3rd academically in her class, she is a member of National Honor Society, the Student Athletic Council, Jefferson County 4-H, North United Methodist Church, the Madison Youth Softball Camp and Madison Youth Basketball Camp.  She is the daughter of Jason and Sandi Dyer of Dupont.

Nicholas Grieser is a senior boys basketball player at New Castle High School, where he has been a starter including on the Trojans’ 2018 3A sectional and regional championship teams and the 2017 Raymond James Hall of Fame Classic title team.  A senior team captain, he has previously been selected twice as academic all-conference.  Also involved in football and unified track, he was named to the 2018 Associated Press 4A all-state football team and an Indianapolis Colts 2018 Indiana High School Academic All-Star, in addition to all-conference honors.   Ranked 2nd academically in his class, he is a member of National Honor Society, Renaissance, and PEER and has been involved in the Riley Dance Marathon, Day of Caring, Christian Love Help Center, and the Ronald McDonald House.  He is the son of Matt and Anna Grieser of New Castle.

Kayden Key has been a standout at Frankton High School, earning three-time all-conference honors, a two-time Madison County all-county selection and as a 2018 underclass all-state selection.  He was a sophomore starter for Frankton’s 2017 2A IHSAA champion team and a member of two Central Indiana Conference champions.  Ranked 4th academically in his class, he is a huddle captain with Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Vice President of SADD and a History Club leader.  He also has been involved with Northview Church, Madison County Athletes of Character, National Honor Society, History Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society.  He is the son of Joey and Ceresa Key.

Stevie McNew is a senior captain for the Springs Valley High School girls basketball team.  A past recipient of the team Mental Attitude Award and named a JV MVP, she was a part of the program during their 25-1 2015-16 regional finalist season.  Successful as a member of the Blackhawks’ track program, she has been named track team MVP, a regional qualifier in the 800M, conference track champions and as a member of relay teams to win two conference championships and a sectional.  A member of the National Honor Society, she is involved with local radio station Q-100 keeping stats for boys basketball broadcasts.  She is the daughter of Mark and Kimberly Massengill of French Lick.

The “Gifts of the Game” scholarship program was created to recognize high school seniors who have been involved in Indiana high school basketball as a player, manager, statistician, student trainer, or other similar role with consideration given to their scholarship, leadership, and extra-curricular activities. 

The name “Gifts of the Game” is a nod to both the financial gift Indiana high school seniors will be receiving, as well as the benefits basketball has played in the lives of those associated with the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame and this program.

Funded through the 2nd largest private donation in Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame history, the scholarship fund is open to further contributions to increase the amount and number of scholarships given. 

Interested donors may contact Chris May, Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame executive director at [email protected] or (765) 529-1891 for more information or checks may be sent to Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, One Hall of Fame Court, New Castle, IN 47362 with an appropriate note in the memo line.