News & Updates

Indiana Basketball HOF Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

December 1, 2022

Indiana Basketball HOF Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame has announced the four recipients of their “Gifts of the Game” scholarship program.

Elizabeth Graham of Triton Central High School, Maya King of Alexandria-Monroe High School, Mathew Strange of Oak Hill, and Boston Steers of Evansville Central have been selected as the recipients of four-year renewable college scholarships worth up to $4,000 each.

Elizabeth Graham is a four-year member of the Triton-Central Girls’ Basketball team, earning All-Shelby County, All-Indiana Crossroads Conference, and IBCA All-District honors.  When not on the hardwood, Graham participates on the Tigers Girls’ Soccer team, also earning All-County and All-Conference selections as well.  In the classroom, she is a proud member of the National Honor Society, Sunshine Society, and Student Council.  She volunteers within her community as an instructor and coach at various youth basketball and soccer camps. She is the daughter of Bryan & Christine Graham of Fairland and will continue her education at Indiana University-South Bend.

Maya King is a four-year varsity basketball player and three-year starter for Alexandria-Monroe High School Girls’ Basketball team.  In addition to basketball, King is a four-year participant on the Tigers’ softball team, three of which as a starter.  She is an active contributor in the community and classroom as well, holding positions in the Student Council, Prom Committee, serving as a class officer for three years, youth leadership academy, and choir director.  She volunteers her time to numerous organizations, including Alexandria Community Center, St. Mary’s School, Multiplication Madness, and basketball centric camps and youth hoop shoot.  She is a member of the National Honors Society and the daughter of Brian & Monica King of Alexandria.

Mathew Strange is a four-year member of the Oak Hill High School Boys’ Basketball program, serving as team captain and team’s current assist leader.  His on-court accomplishments have earned him Honorable Mention Central Indiana Conference and Honorable Mention All-Grant County.  In addition to basketball, Strange participates in both soccer and baseball for the Golden Eagles.  Beyond athletics, he is a member of the National Honors Society, Student Council, Student Athletic Board, show choir, 4-H, and Junior Leaders.  His academic and community accomplishments have earned him Academic All-Conference and Academic All-State.  He is the son of Josh and Stephanie Strange of Marion.

Boston Steers is a three-year varsity letterwinner on the Boys’ Basketball team for Evansville Central High School.  Earning the Defensive Team MVP in the 2020 and 2021 seasons, Steers serves as team captain this year.  Off the court, Steers participates in Football, Golf, and Unified Sports for the Bears and is a member of the National Honors Society.  In the community, Steers participates in his church youth group, serves as a youth basketball coach, and volunteers at the local food pantry.  He is the son of Mike and Sarah Steers of Evansville.

The “Gifts of the Game” scholarship program was created to recognize high school seniors who have been involved in Indiana high school basketball as a player, manager, statistician, student trainer, or other similar role with consideration given to their scholarship, leadership, and extra-curricular activities. 

The name “Gifts of the Game” is a nod to both the financial gift Indiana high school seniors will be receiving, as well as the benefits basketball has played in the lives of those associated with the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame and this program.  In its 4th year of existence, $16,000 in college scholarships will be given this year through the program.

Funded through the 2nd largest private donation in Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame history, the scholarship fund is open to further contributions to increase the amount and number of scholarships given. 

Interested donors may contact Trip Lukemeyer, Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Development Director at or (317) 983-4667 for more information or to make a contribution.  Contributions may be sent to Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, One Hall of Fame Court, New Castle, IN 47362 with an appropriate note in the memo line.