The 1986 Fort Wayne Northrop team became the  6th undefeated state champion in Indiana high school girls basketball history, their undefeated season came amidst a streak of 57 consecutive wins, which set an Indiana high school basketball record.

Fort Wayne Northrop, coached by Dave Riley, turned back a tough Scottsburg team 58-55 to capture the 11th Annual Indiana High School Athletic Association Girls Basketball State Finals Tournament held at Market Square Arena in Indianapolis on March 1, 1986.  The Bruins locked up the championship with a perfect 29-0 record behind outstanding performances by Lori Meinerding and Jenny Bull. Meinerding scored 22 points and grabbed13 boards. Bull provided strong support with 14 points and eight rebounds.

Back to all inductees