With a 52-44 victory over Warsaw in the 16th Annual IHSAA Girls Basketball State Finals, Coach Pete Pritchett’s Lady Stars were crowned 1991 IHSAA State Basketball Champions in front of the second largest crowd to ever witness a girls basketball championship game, up to that point, in Indianapolis’ Market Square Arena to complete the perfect 29-0 unbeaten season. Marla Inman paced the Lady Stars with 21, Amy Walker added 16, and Carrie Mount had 6.

BNL defeated Valparaiso in the first semi-final contest 50-41 with Amy Walker scoring 18, and Marla Inman and Carrie Mount adding 15 apiece.

The IHSAA Executive Committee selected Carrie Mount as the recipient of the Mental Attitude Award.

BNL began the season number 1, and it was a title that these ladies held from start to finish. Averaging 80.5 points a game and scoring as many as 120 in a game, the Lady Stars were the definition of a true team.

BNL Coach Pete Pritchett was elected to the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007.

Back to all inductees