News & Updates

2013 Womens Hall of Fame ceremonies approach

April 23, 2013

NEW CASTLE – A class of 11 remarkable talents will be welcomed as inductees when the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame celebrates their 12th Women-s Induction Class on Saturday, April 27.

Including six players who reached the IHSAA girls state finals, two IHSAA Mental Attitude award winners and two members of state championship teams, the class also incorporates two pioneering coaches of the early era of IHSAA girls basketball and a current coach of a dominant in-state college program.

In addition, a number of this year-s inductees left their mark in the early years of IHSAA girls- basketball, implemented in 1975-76. Each has also left their mark with successful careers in college and in their respective lives off the court.

Name                                           High School                         Graduation
Lori Augusyniak                           Leo                                          1978
Nancy Cowan-Eksten                   Crown Point                             1984
Annie (Kvachkoff) Equihua          Crown Point                              1985
Kris Huffman *                              Fort Dodge (Iowa)                    1985
Joe Johnson                                Ben Davis                                 1969
Melissa (Kilgore) LaGrange         Rushville                                  1983
Kim Land                                     North Central (Indianapolis)      1979
Lisa Sanchez                               East Chicago Roosevelt           1980
Karen (Bauer) Stenftenagel         Jasper                                      1983
Vicki Vaughan                              Lawrenceburg                          1981
Alan Vickrey                                 Decatur Central                       1968
        * St.Vincent Health Silver Medal Award recipient

In addition to these inductees, 18 women will be recognized as members of the Hall-s 2013 Silver Anniversary Team recognizing their spot as top graduating high school seniors of 25 years ago. The 1988 state champion Fort Wayne Snider Panthers will be remembered 25 years after their title and the 1987-88 Scottsburg Warriorettes will be recognized on the 25th anniversary of their Hall of Fame Classic tournament championship.

Susan Dufrane and Dave Emery will be presented with the Center Circle Officials Award, recognizing their contributions as longtime officials dedicated to Indiana high school basketball.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame-s Annual Women-s Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 27. The evening ceremony will take place at the Primo South Banquet and Conference Center which is located on the south side of Indianapolis. In addition, a free public reception will take place at the Hall of Fame museum in New Castle from 11:00 a.m. (EST) to 1:00 p.m.

Call the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame at 765-529-1891 for more information.