News & Updates

Hall of Fame names new directors for 2018

July 1, 2018

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame has elected two members to their Board of Directors, effective July 1.

Wayne Barker is a new member of the board, while Amy Metheny begins her 3rd term.  Each were appointed to four-year terms on the Board of Directors.

Barker is a graduate of Wapahani High School with degrees from Ball State University, IPFW and Indiana University.  He has been the Superintendent of Schools at Bluffton-Harrison Metropolitan School District since 2009, where he previously spent 14 years as Assistant Principal and head boys basketball coach, including a trip to the 2002 2A finals.  He resides in Bluffton.

Metheny is a graduate of Southport High School and holds degrees from Indiana University and the Indiana University School of Medicine.  A member of the 1980 IHSAA girls basketball state champion team at Southport, she was named the IHSAA Mental Attitude Award winner, Marion County Female Athlete of the Year and an Indiana All-Star before helping IU to a 1983 Big Ten championship.  She resides in Indianapolis.

A full listing of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Officers and Board members for the 2018-19 year:

Steve Witty, President
Jerry Peirson, Executive Vice President
Ray Pavy, Treasurer
Denny Brady, Secretary
Sam Alford, Immediate Past President
Bill Walker, Vice President North
Mark Baltz, Vice President Central
Donna Sullivan, Vice President South
Phil Isenbarger, At-Large
Judi Warren, At-Large
Vance Meier, Henry County Representative
Chris May, Executive Director

Board of Directors
Larry Angle
Wayne Barker
Steve Brett
Mike Broughton
Bobby Cox
Steve Davidson
Roger DeYoung
Jim Fisher
David Gadis
Amy Metheny
Alan Nass
Steve Platt
Jim Powers, Jr.
Dave Schellhase
Al Tucker

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame was established in 1962 and opened their museum in New Castle in 1990.  Their mission is to honor, preserve and promote the heritage of Indiana high school basketball, including maintaining a historical museum which portrays the history of Indiana basketball.  To find out more, visit or call (765) 529-1891.