News & Updates

Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Election of Officers

June 24, 2013

(NEW CASTLE) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announces the election of new officers and members of the Board of Directors, to serve terms beginning July 1.

Jim Callane has been elected to a two-year term as President.  Callane is a 2008 inductee and is a graduate of Rushville High School (1960) and DePauw University (1964), having played under Hall of Fame coaches Les Ray (Rushville) and Elmer McCall (DePauw).  A former head coach at Danville, Linton and Kokomo Haworth high schools, Callane spent 18 years as Athletic Director at Kokomo High School and resides in Kokomo.

 Sam Alford has been elected to a two-year term as Executive Vice President.  A 2002 inductee, Alford is a 1960 graduate of Washington High School and 1964 graduate of Franklin College. A former coach at Monroe City, South Knox, Martinsville and New Castle high schools, he also spent time coaching at Southwest Missouri State (now Missouri State) and the University of Iowa.  He resides in Ninevah.

 1990 inductee Dr. Ray Pavy remains Treasurer of the Hall of Fame.  A 1959 graduate of New Castle Chrysler High School and 1965 graduate of Indiana University, he was a longtime school administrator in New Castle and resides there.

Steve Witty has been elected to a two-year term as Secretary.  A 1965 graduate of Center Grove High School and 1969 graduate of Franklin College, he was the head coach at Ben Davis High School from 1990-2002 and is a 2012 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.  He serves as Executive Director of the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, is President of the National Organization of Coaches Directors and Vice President of the National High School Basketball Coaches Association.  He resides in Avon.

 A new representative elected to the 26-member Board of Directors is Jerry Peirson.

Peirson is a 1962 graduate of Royerton High School and 1966 graduate of Miami University (Ohio).  A 2010 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, Peirson played under Hall of Fame coach Myron Dickerson at Royerton.  Head Coach at Miami from 1984 -1990, he also worked in Athletic Development as the Executive Director of the Cardinal Varsity Club at Ball State University. He is currently a championship ring specialist with the J. Lewis Small Company in Elwood and enjoying retirement.

The complete list of officers for 2013-14:

President, Jim Callane – Rushville H.S., DePauw University
Executive Vice President, Sam Alford – Washington H.S., Franklin College
Treasurer, Ray Pavy – New Castle H.S., Indiana University
Secretary, Steve Witty – Center Grove H.S., Franklin College
Past President, Marvin Tudor – Eminence H.S., Butler University
Vice President North, Orvis -Shorty- Burdsall – Vincennes H.S., Butler University
Vice President Central, Jim Fisher – Lebanon H.S., Newberry College
Vice President South, Carol Tumey – Leavenworth H.S., Franklin College
At-Large Representative, Phil Isenbarger – Muncie North H.S., Indiana University
At-Large Representative, Amy Metheny – Southport H.S., Indiana University
Henry County Representative, Danny Danielson – Indiana University

 The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame was established in 1962 and opened their museum in New Castle in 1990.  Their mission is to recognize outstanding players and coaches from Indiana high schools and others whose contributions to Indiana high school basketball are noteworthy and maintain a historical museum which portrays the history of Indiana basketball.  To find out more, visit or call (765) 529-1891.