News & Updates

Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announces Officers, Directors for 2012-13

July 1, 2012

(NEW CASTLE) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announces the re-election of officers and new members of the Board of Directors, to serve terms beginning July 1.

Marvin Tudor of Huntington will serve the second of his two-year term as President of the Board in 2012-13, while Executive Vice President Jim Callane of Kokomo, Treasurer Ray Pavy of New Castle and Secretary Sam Alford of Ninevah remain in their offices for the coming year.

Two members have rejoined the Hall-s Board of Directors. 

Steve Witty of Avon rejoins the Board for a four-year appointment.  Witty is a 1965 graduate of Center Grove High School and 1969 graduate of Franklin College.  Head coach of the Ben Davis boys varsity program from 1990 through 2002, he was the only coach to lead teams to four consecutive Final Four appearances in Indiana-s one-class boys basketball state tournament.  Witty previously served two consecutive terms on the Board before a mandatory year off.  He was a 2012 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

Also rejoining the Board for a four-year term is Donna Sullivan of Seymour.  A 1966 graduate of Orleans High School, she graduated from Indiana University in 1970.  The head coach of the Seymour High School girls program for over 30 years, she was a member of the Hall-s inaugural induction class for girls basketball in 2002.  She previously served two consecutive terms on the Board before a mandatory year off.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame was established in 1962 and opened their museum in New Castle in 1990.  Their mission is to recognize outstanding players and coaches from Indiana high schools and others whose contributions to Indiana high school basketball are noteworthy and maintain a historical museum which portrays the history of Indiana basketball.  To find out more, visit or call (765) 529-1891.

The complete list of officers for 2012-13:

President, Marvin Tudor – Eminence H.S., Butler University
Executive Vice President, Jim Callane – Rushville H.S., DePauw University
Treasurer, Ray Pavy – New Castle H.S., Indiana University
Secretary, Sam Alford – Washington H.S., Franklin College
Past President, Ralph Taylor – Indianapolis Washington H.S., Purdue University
Vice President North, Orvis -Shorty- Burdsall – Vincennes H.S., Butler University
Vice President Central, Jim Fisher – Lebanon H.S., Newberry College
Vice President South, Carol Tumey – Leavenworth H.S., Franklin College
At-Large Representative, Phil Isenbarger – Muncie North H.S., Indiana University
At-Large Representative, Amy Metheny – Southport H.S., Indiana University
Henry County Representative, Danny Danielson – Indiana University

The complete list of Board of Directors for 2012-13:

(All above officers)

Dr. Phil Borst, Indianapolis
Mike Broughton, North Vernon
Jack Colescott, Marion
Bobby Cox (IHSAA Commissioner seat), Carmel
Jimmy Dimitroff, Indianapolis
Mark Gabriel, Nashville
Steve Green, D.D.S, Indianapolis
Greg Humnicky, South Bend
Dave Nicholson, Noblesville
Gordy Pope, Greenfield
Randy Shields, Fishers
Donna Sullivan, Seymour
Al Tucker, Cloverdale
Judi Warren, Carmel
Steve Witty, Avon