News & Updates

Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Officers, Directors for 2014-15

June 20, 2014

(NEW CASTLE) – The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame announces the re-election of officers and new members of the Board of Directors, to serve terms beginning July 1.

Jim Callane of Kokomo will serve the second of his two-year term as President of the Board in 2014-15, while Executive Vice President Sam Alford of Nineveh, Treasurer Ray Pavy of New Castle and Secretary Steve Witty of Avon remain in their offices for the coming year.

Four new members have been selected to the Hall’s Board of Directors for a four-year term – Mark Baltz, Alan Nass, Jim Powers, Jr., and Bill Walker.

Mark Baltz of Zionsville is a 1970 graduate of Ohio University and a longtime official.  A recipient of the Hall’s Center Circle Officials Award in 2013, he has officiated 38 Indiana high school basketball sectionals, 25 regionals, eight semi-states and three IHSAA state finals.  He was recognized in 2005 by the IHSAA with the state’s boys basketball Outstanding Official Award and in 2011 with the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Roy Gardner Award.  Well known in football circles as well, he has 25 years’ experience as an NFL official.

Alan Nass of Huntingburg is a 1959 graduate of Huntingburg High School and holds bachelors and masters degrees from the Georgia Institute of Technology.  A 1959 Indiana All-Star, he graduated as the 2nd leading rebounder in Georgia Tech history.  Nass is the longtime President of Nass and Son Funeral Home in Huntingburg, a Past President of the Indiana School Board Association, the Board of Directors of the Holland National Bank and currently serves on the Board of Trustees of Oakland City University.  He is a 2013 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.

Jim Powers, Jr. of Carmel is a 1974 graduate of Elkhart Memorial High School and 1978 graduate of DePauw University.  Currently managing partner of the Crowe Horwath Indianapolis office, he serves on the Board of Directors of St. Vincent Health and is a member of the Board of Directors and the treasurer of the Indianapolis Zoo.  He is a 2011 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.   He and his father are one of the few father-son duos inducted into the Hall, and they become the 2nd father-son combination to have served on the Hall’s Board of Directors.

Bill Walker of Huntington is a 1970 graduate of New Castle Chrysler High School, receiving a bachelor’s degree from Indiana University and master’s degree from Ball State University.  Employed at Huntington North High School for 33 years, he taught radio, television, journalism and English, including management of award-winning student-radio station WVSH, before his retirement in 2007.  A past public address announcer for HNHS football and baseball games, he continues that role for Huntington University men’s basketball and baseball contests.  In 2009, he was inducted into the Huntington North Athletic Hall of Fame.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame was established in 1962 and opened their museum in New Castle in 1990.  Their mission is to recognize outstanding players and coaches from Indiana high schools and others whose contributions to Indiana high school basketball are noteworthy and maintain a historical museum which portrays the history of Indiana basketball.  To find out more, visit or call (765) 529-1891.

The complete list of officers for 2014-15:

President, Jim Callane – Rushville H.S., DePauw University
Executive Vice President, Sam Alford – Washington H.S., Franklin College
Treasurer, Ray Pavy – New Castle H.S., Indiana University
Secretary, Steve Witty – Center Grove H.S., Franklin College
Past President, Marvin Tudor – Eminence H.S., Butler University
Vice President North, Orvis “Shorty” Burdsall – Vincennes H.S., Butler University
Vice President Central, Carol Tumey – Leavenworth H.S., Franklin College
Vice President South, Donna Sullivan – Orleans H.S., Indiana University
At-Large Representative, Phil Isenbarger – Muncie North H.S., Indiana University
At-Large Representative, Amy Metheny – Southport H.S., Indiana University
Henry County Representative, Danny Danielson – Indiana University

The complete list of Board of Directors for 2014-15:

(All above officers)

Mark Baltz, Zionsville
Dr. Phil Borst, Indianapolis
Mike Broughton, North Vernon
Jack Colescott, Gas City
Bobby Cox (IHSAA Commissioner seat), Carmel
Mark Gabriel, Nashville
Steve Green, D.D.S, Indianapolis
Greg Humnicky, South Bend
Alan Nass, Huntingburg
Jerry Peirson, Yorktown
Jim Powers, Jr., Carmel
Randy Shields, Fishers
Al Tucker, Cloverdale
Bill Walker, Huntington
Judi Warren, Carmel